

The Arms Trade Treaty Avenue de France 23 CH-1202 Geneva 04 November, 2021

To : Representatives of States Parties to the Arms Trade Treaty.

: Representatives of Signatory States to the Arms Trade Treaty.

: Representatives of Observer States to the Arms Trade Treaty.

: Representatives of International and Regional Organizations.

: Representatives of Civil Society, NGOs and Industry.

Dear Distinguished Representatives,

ANNOUNCEMENT PERTAINING TO THE CSP8: ATT OFFICE HOLDERS

1. In my capacity as the President of the Eighth Conference of States Parties (CSP8) to the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT), I write to inform you of the appointment of the Chairs of the ATT Working Groups, the Facilitators of the WGETI Sub-working Groups, the Chair of the Diversion Information Exchange Forum, as well as the Chairperson of the Voluntary Trust Fund (VTF) Selection Committee.

ATT Working Group Chairs

2. The Working Group on Effective Treaty Implementation (WGETI), the Working Group on Transparency and Reporting (WGTR), and the Working Group on Treaty Universalization (WGTU) will be chaired as follows:

a. WGETI: Ambassador Sang-beom LIM, of the Republic of Korea.

b. WGTR: Ms. Sabine VISSER, of the Netherlands; and

Ms. Grisselle del Carmen RODRIGUEZ RAMIREZ, of Panama.

c. WGTU: Ambassador Thomas GÖBEL, of Germany; and

Ambassador Lansana GBERIE, of Sierra Leone.

WGETI Sub-working Group Facilitators

3. Ambassador LIM, as Chair of the WGETI, has informed me that, after consultation, he has decided that the discussions under the WGETI Sub-working Groups will continue to be led by the facilitators appointed during the cycle of the Sixth Conference of States Parties (CSP6) to the Arms Trade Treaty, as follows:

 a. Articles 6 & 7 (Prohibitions & Export and Export Assessment) will be facilitated by Ambassador Ignacio SÁNCHEZ DE LERÍN of Spain¹;

-

¹ Permanent Representative of Spain to the Conference on Disarmament

- b. Article 9 (Transit or trans-shipment) will be facilitated by Mr. Rob WENSLEY of South Africa²; and
- c. Article 11 (Diversion) will be facilitated by Ms. Stela PETROVIĆ of Serbia³.

Diversion Information Exchange Forum Chair

4. The Diversion Information Exchange Forum (DIEF) will be chaired by Mr. Tom NIJS, of Belgium.

Chairperson of the VTF Selection Committee

- 5. During the first meeting of the VTF Selection Committee members appointed by CSP6, the VTF Selection Committee members selected Ambassador Dell HIGGIE of New Zealand to serve as Chairperson of the VTF Selection Committee from CSP6 to CSP8.
- 6. I would like to take this opportunity to thank fellow Chairs, Co-Chairs and Facilitators for undertaking to carry forward the important work of the ATT Working Groups, the DIEF, and the VTF Selection Committee, and I am confident that meaningful progress will be made under their capable stewardship.
- 7. I look forward to working with you all in the weeks and months ahead towards a successful CSP8 and to sharing further details of my work plan and vision for the Conference as they unfold.

I avail myself of this opportunity to renew the assurance of my highest consideration.

Yours faithfully,

Ambassador Thomas GÖBEL

President: Eighth Conference of States Parties to the ATT

² Department of International Relations and Cooperation.

³ Ministry of Trade, Tourism and Telecommunications.